Class Notes

Fall 2017
Share Email Print
Text: A

Alumni: Share your news!

Submit recent achievements and updates at



Rody P. Cox, M.D. (Residency 1954), professor of internal medicine at the UT Southwestern Medical Center, was elected to the Arnold P. Gold Foundation’s Gold Humanism Honor Society. 

Michael M. Morisaki (M.D. 1954), J.D., an internist in California, wrote the e-book How Good Is Your Doctor?, detailing how to choose an internist. 

Alvin M. Ring (M.D. 1958), clinical professor of pathology and biomedical sciences at the Florida Atlantic University Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, was elected to the College of American Pathologists Foundation’s board of directors. 

Jack C. Westman (M.D. 1952, Residency 1959), professor emeritus of psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health and president of Wisconsin Cares Inc., wrote The China-America Alliance: East Asian and American Cultural Values Promote Global Harmony. 


Eugene M. Helveston (M.D. 1960), professor emeritus, former chair of ophthalmology, and founder of the Section of Pediatric Ophthalmology at the Indiana University School of Medicine, published The Second Decade: Raising Kids to be Happy, Self-Sufficient Adults Through Work

S. Martin Lindenauer, M.D. (Residency 1964), professor emeritus of surgery and former chief of staff at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System, co-authored Paralyzing Summer: The True Story of the Ann Arbor V.A. Hospital Poisonings and Deaths


Daniel Frank Iyama Kurtycz (M.D. 1976), medical director of the Wisconsin State Lab of Hygiene, and professor of pathology and of laboratory medicine at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, received the 2017 L.C. Tao Educator of the Year Award from the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology. 

Mark L. Mitchell (M.D. 1979), a pathologist and former section chief of the histology laboratory and autopsy service at Christiana Care Health System, wrote Nineteen Autopsies: A Companion for the Study of Pathology

Elliot J. Rayfield, M.D. (Residency 1970), clinical professor of medicine, endocrinology, diabetes, and bone disease at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, was awarded Thomas Jefferson University’s 2017 Sidney Kimmel Medical College Alumni Achievement Award. 

Tim Valk, M.D. (Residencies 1978 and 1981, Fellowship 1981), an endocrinologist, and two other U-M alumni co-founded Admetsys, a biomedical technology company that was the first investment target of U-M’s Zell Early Stage Fund for its artificial pancreas device. 


Lawrence Chin (M.D. 1987), professor and chair of neurosurgery, director of the Gamma Knife Center, and medical director of the Neuro Oncology Program at SUNY Upstate Medical University, was named their 2017 Program Director of the Year. 

Carolyn Coker Ross (M.D. 1980), MPH, an addiction medicine specialist, wrote The Emotional Eating Workbook and The Food Addiction Recovery Workbook

Elena Fuentes-Afflick (M.D. 1986), MPH, professor of pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco, became president of the American Pediatric Society in May 2017. 

William I. Kuhel (M.D. 1983), professor of clinical otolaryngology and director of the head and neck service at Weill Cornell Medical Center, was named the Richard W. Zirinsky Jr. Professor of Head and Neck Surgery. 


David A. Baltierra (M.D. 1993), assistant professor of family medicine at the West Virginia University School of Medicine, received the 2016 Dean’s Excellence Award for Educational Innovation. 

Grant Greenberg (M.D. 1997, Residency 2000) was named the Leonard Parker Pool Endowed Chair of Family Medicine at the Lehigh Valley Health Network in Pennsylvania. 

Aviva Katz, M.D. (Residency 1993), director of the University of Pittsburgh Consortium Ethics Program and the Ethics Consultation Service at the Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh, was appointed to the Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Human Research Protections, which provides guidance to the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

Aanshu Aggarwal Shah (M.D. 1994), a diagnostic radiologist, received the 2017 Las Vegas HEALS Inspired Excellence in Healthcare award. 


Andrea Flynn (M.D. 2011) received an Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation Young Investigator award to research neuroblastoma at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, where she is an attending physician.