Class Notes

Spring 2021
Share Email Print
Text: A


Clifford Craig (M.D. 1969), associate professor of orthopaedic surgery, was named a fellow in the U-M Interprofessional Leadership Fellows program. The fellows will work on team projects that address interprofessional education in experiential spaces, such as clinics or community settings.


Robert G. Fawcett, M.D. (Residency 1979), a psychiatrist in Petoskey, Michigan, has a forthcoming book, Calming the Bipolar Storm: a Guide for Patients and their Families (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2021). Melvin McInnis, M.D., the Thomas B. and Nancy Upjohn Woodworth Professor of Bipolar Disorder and Depression and director of the Heinz C. Prechter Bipolar Research Program, calls it “a must-read for medical health care providers and others who interact with people who have lived experience with bipolar.”


Raynard Kington (M.D. 1982), Ph.D., head of school at Phillips Academy (Andover, Massachusetts) and former president of Grinnell College (Iowa), was appointed to the Beth Israel Lahey Health (Boston) board of trustees.


Iltefat Hamzavi (M.D. 1996), a Detroit dermatologist, has been named a Patient Care Hero by the American Academy of Dermatology for his innovative use of light therapy to sanitize masks needed by front-line health care workers during the pandemic.


Alicia C. Arnold (M.D. 2004), a radiologist in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, has been elected president of the Wisconsin Medical Society for 2021-2022. She has previously been elected to multiple leadership positions within the organization and received recognition for her involvement, including the Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., M.D. Young Physician Leadership Award.

Benjamin Bassin (M.D. 2005), professor of emergency medicine and director of the Emergency Critical Care Center (EC3) at Michigan Medicine, was awarded the Barry Shapiro Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Management at the Society of Critical Care Medicine 50th Annual International Congress. The award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the design and/or implementation of evidence-based practice that has significantly impacted clinical, operational, or fiscal outcomes within their area of responsibility. The EC3 is the first and largest emergency department-based intensive care unit in the U.S.

Dylan Cooper (M.D. 2002), a professor of clinical emergency medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine, won the school’s 2020 Scholar Educator Award. Honorees are recognized for their teaching effectiveness, commitment to learning, educational leadership, scholarly activity related to teaching and learning, and passion for biomedical education.

Sonia Eden (M.D. 2000, Residency 2007) was appointed chief of neurosurgery at Detroit Medical Center Harper University Hospital. Eden specializes in minimally invasive spine surgery and has expertise in complex spine surgery, sacroiliac joint surgery, endoscopic and minimally invasive brain surgery, brain and spine tumor surgery, and stereotactic radiosurgery.