Class Notes

Summer 2021
Share Email Print
Text: A


Michael M.E. Johns (M.D. 1969, Residency 1975), a professor in the schools of medicine and public health at Emory University, won the 2020 Herbert Pardes Family Award for National Leadership in Advocacy for Research from Research!America. 



Robert G. Fawcett, M.D. (Residency 1979), a retired psychiatrist in Petoskey, Michigan, published Calming the Bipolar Storm: A Guide for Patients and Their Families (Rowman & Littlefield, 2021).

Gene Ragland (M.D. 1970), a physician in Ann Arbor, received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award from Who’s Who in America in 2019 and the Central Michigan University Distinguished Alumni Award in 2020.



Howard Markel (M.D. 1986), Ph.D., the George E. Wantz Distinguished Professor of the History of Medicine and director of the U-M Center for the History of Medicine, was named a visiting fellow at Clare Hall, University of Cambridge (U.K.), for the academic year 2021-2022. Markel also has a forthcoming book, The Secret of Life: Rosalind Franklin, James Watson, and Francis Crick’s Discovery of DNA’s Double Helix (W.W. Norton & Company, September 2021).



Herbert D. Aronow (M.D. 1994), MPH, FSVM, director of interventional cardiology at the Lifespan Cardiovascular Institute (Rhode Island) and director of the cardiac catheterization laboratories at Rhode Island Hospital and the Miriam Hospital (Rhode Island), was elected president of the Society for Vascular Medicine for 2021-2023.

Mark LePage (M.D. 1995, Residency 1999, Fellowship 2000), MBA, was named senior vice president of medical groups and ambulatory strategy for Trinity Health, a position that began July 1, after LePage served four years as the first physician CEO of IHA, a Trinity medical group.



Daniel Hamstra (M.D. and Ph.D. 2001, Internship 2002, Residency 2006) was appointed professor and chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He was also named the William T. Butler Chair for Distinguished Faculty.