Faculty milestones and accolades



Summer 2017
Share Email Print
Text: A

James E. Carpenter (M.D. 1984), chair and Harold W. and Helen L. Gehring Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, was elected vice president of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery. He is the head team physician for the U-M Athletic Department and has been a team physician since 1991. 

Kathleen Collins, M.D., Ph.D., and Roger Cone, Ph.D., became members of the National Academy of Medicine. Collins is an associate director of the Cellular and Molecular Biology Program, and professor of internal medicine and of microbiology and immunology. Cone is the Asa Gray Collegiate Professor of Life Sciences, the Mary Sue Coleman Director of the Life Sciences Institute and professor of molecular and integrative physiology. 

John O. DeLancey (M.D. 1977, Residency 1981) was inducted ad eundem into the Fellowship of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. The honor recognizes individuals who have demonstrated, through research or clinical commitment, major contributions to obstetrics, gynecology or reproductive health. DeLancey is the Norman F. Miller Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, director of pelvic floor research and professor of urology. 

Dee Fenner, M.D. (Residency 1989), received the 2017 Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors APGO leaders who have made noteworthy contributions within the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology and have worked to further APGO’s ultimate goal to provide optimum health care to women. Fenner, the Harold A. Furlong Professor of Women’s Health and professor of urology, is the chief clinical officer for the University Hospital and the Samuel and Jean Frankel Cardiovascular Center. 

Hope K. Haefner (M.D. 1985, Residency 1990), professor of obstetrics and gynecology, received the 2017 Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Award from the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology. The award honors her preservation and donation of image archives of diseases affecting the lower genital tract. 

Ella Kazerooni (M.D. 1988, Residency 1992), director of the Division of Cardiothoracic Radiology and associate chair for clinical affairs in the Department of Radiology, has been named to the Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee panel to provide independent guidance to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Kazerooni, the service chief of diagnostic radiology and professor of radiology and of internal medicine, will work with colleagues to review and evaluate medical literature and technology assessments. 

Anna S. Lok, M.D., the Alice Lohrman Andrews Research Professor of Hepatology and assistant dean for clinical research at the Medical School, became the 68th president of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. Her term began in January 2017. Lok, the director of clinical hepatology and professor of internal medicine, also was honored by the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) for her pioneering work with liver diseases. She earned the AGA’s 2016 William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology, which recognizes an individual who has made a unique, outstanding contribution of major importance to the field. 

Robert Neumar, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chair of emergency medicine, delivered the keynote address at Huron Valley Ambulance’s annual EMS Recognition Awards Dinner. Neumar is a founding member and co-director of the SaveMiHeart coalition. 

Paula Anne Newman-Casey (M.D. 2007, Residency 2011, Fellowship 2013), assistant professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, received the 2016 Artemis Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology. The award recognizes a young ophthalmologist academy member who has demonstrated exemplary service to patients. Newman-Casey helped introduce a new initiative for providing ophthalmic care to patients at Hope Medical Clinic, a free clinic in Ypsilanti, Michigan. 

Henry Paulson, M.D., Ph.D., the Lucile Groff Professor of Neurology for Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders, testified before the U.S. Senate finance committee’s subcommittee on health care. Paulson, also the director of the Michigan Alzheimer’s Disease Center, joined Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) to support the HOPE for Alzheimer’s Act, a measure that would increase access to information about care and support for newly diagnosed individuals and their families. 

Bradley Uren (M.D. 2002, Residency 2006), assistant professor of emergency medicine, was appointed by Gov. Rick Snyder (R-Mich.) to the Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Uren and his colleagues will advise the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services on issues affecting prescription drug coverage and Michigan Medicaid programs.