Faculty milestones and accolades

Summer 2019
Share Email Print
Text: A

John I. Allen, M.D., professor of internal medicine, was given the American Gastroenterological Association’s highest honor, the Julius Friedenwald Medal. Presented annually since 1941, the medal recognizes a physician for lifelong contributions to the field of gastroenterology. Allen is also chief clinical officer of the U-M Medical School Medical Group.

Maria Castro, Ph.D., the R.C. Schneider Collegiate Professor, professor of neurosurgery, and professor of cell and developmental biology, became chair of the National Institutes of Health’s Center for Scientific Review in the Clinical Neuroimmunology and Brain Tumors Study Section (through June 2020); chair of the American Society of Gene and Cell Therapy’s Immune Responses to Gene and Cell Therapy Committee (through 2020); and co-chair of the Basic and Translational Aspects of Immunology and Gene and Cell Therapy’s 2019 Scientific Symposium.

Hope K. Haefner (M.D. 1985, Residency 1990), the Harold A. Furlong Professor of Women’s Health in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the 2019 American Society of Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology’s Distinguished Service Award. This is the highest award offered by the society, and it is presented for outstanding service to the discipline of anogenital and HPV-related diseases.

Pedro Lowenstein, M.D., Ph.D., the Richard Schneider Collegiate Professor, professor of neurosurgery, and professor of cell and developmental biology, was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s Section on Neuroscience in 2018.

Howard Markel (M.D. 1986), Ph.D., the George E. Wantz Distinguished University Professor of the History of Medicine and director of the Center for the History of Medicine, received the 2019 Johns Hopkins School of Medicine’s Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award. The award is the highest honor the institution bestows. Markel is also a professor of psychiatry, and of pediatrics and communicable diseases.

Linda Samuelson, Ph.D., the John A. Williams Collegiate Professor of Gastrointestinal Physiology and professor of internal medicine, was named president-elect of the American Physiology Society (APS) in 2019, and, in 2020, will become its 93rd president. She will give the society’s 2020 Horace W. Davenport Distinguished Lectureship. Also the associate director of the Center for Organogenesis, Samuelson is the 11th member of the Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology to serve as APS president.