Winter 2022
Share Email Print
Text: A

Brahmajee K. Nallamothu, M.D., MPH, became the inaugural Stevo Julius Research Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine in September. The professorship is made possible through a gift from Stevo Julius, M.D., Sc.D., professor emeritus of internal medicine and of molecular and integrative physiology. Julius is considered a pioneer in the realm of hypertension treatment and has been recognized by top scientific and medical organizations around the world, including the International Society of Hypertension, which established the Stevo Julius Award in his honor. His groundbreaking work led to the identification of the mechanisms and causes of hypertension, and to new ways to predict and treat hypertension in individuals and across populations. Nallamothu, who is studying how smart devices and digital health tools can better guide personalized care, considers Julius a legend and says he is proud and humbled to hold this professorship.

Kanakadurga V.N.L. Singer, M.D., became the inaugural Valerie Castle Opipari, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics in October. Established with a gift from Edith S. Briskin, an advocate for enhancing children’s health care and advancing the careers of women in medicine, the professorship honors the career of Opipari, who was chair of the Department of Pediatrics from 2003-2018. Under Opipari’s leadership, C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital added dozens of new clinical programs and the department expanded from 11 to 17 subspecialty divisions. Opipari was also instrumental in securing the support needed to build a new hospital, the C.S. Mott Children’s and Von Voigtlander Women’s Hospital, which opened in 2011. Singer has been mentored by Opipari, and her research focuses on how obesity affects the immune system. Singer hopes the professorship will help her support early career faculty and advance the careers of women in medicine and science.

Mark D. Peterson, Ph.D., became the inaugural Charles E. Lytle Jr. Research Professor in October. In 1979, Lytle set up a trust that would ensure his daughter, Margaret, was cared for after he passed away. Lytle stipulated that any funds left after Margaret died would be donated to the Medical School for research of epilepsy, cerebral palsy, and developmental disorders. As the father of a son diagnosed with cerebral palsy, Peterson has dedicated his career and life to advancing health care research for individuals with cerebral palsy and other neurodevelopmental conditions. “I will be proud if the results of my research can lead to actual and sustainable changes in clinical care for patients with cerebral palsy,” says Peterson, who is also an associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation. “Mr. Lytle was passionate about caring for individuals with cerebral palsy, and I feel proud and blessed for the opportunity to carry on that legacy.”

Kenneth M. Kozloff, Ph.D., became the inaugural Steven A. Goldstein, Ph.D., Collegiate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery in October. The professorship was created through gifts from faculty and alumni of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, as well as friends and family of Goldstein. It honors the career of Goldstein, professor emeritus of orthopaedic surgery, who was on the faculty from 1981 until his retirement in 2011. His research ranged from fracture repair and reconstructive surgery to investigating the mechanisms associated with inherited or degenerative connective tissue fragility, to the development of strategies for tissue regeneration. “I served as Ph.D. adviser to Ken M. Kozloff, Ph.D., and am so pleased to see him named as the inaugural holder of this professorship,” says Goldstein. Kozloff’s research focuses on the underlying mechanisms of osteogenesis imperfecta, a rare genetic bone disorder that results in bone fragility and multiple fractures in children. “Steve Goldstein was a pioneer in orthopaedic research,” says Kozloff. “It is a true honor to be able to continue Steve’s legacy in the years to come.”

Tycel Jovelle Phillips, M.D., associate professor of internal medicine, became the inaugural Maria Reinhardt DeCesare Research Professor of Blood Cancers and Bone Marrow Transplantation in November. The professorship is made possible by gifts from family and friends of DeCesare in her memory. DeCesare was a U-M alum and mother of two who died nearly 20 years ago due to a rare complication of a bone marrow transplant. The professorship will support research to improve cancer care for blood cancer patients and bone marrow transplant recipients. “She was always helping people and had a genuine passion to make the world better,” says Susie Brown, DeCesare’s aunt and a founder of the Monroe-Brown Foundation, which supported the professorship. Phillips is the primary investigator on more than 50 clinical trials in multiple subtypes of lymphomas. “My research is focused on new and potentially less toxic treatment regimens,” says Phillips. “The ultimate goal of my research is to improve outcomes and quality of life in patients with lymphoma.”

Roman Giger, Ph.D., became the inaugural Dr. Richard Mark Newman Research Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology in November. The professorship has been established by a gift from Leonard and Eileen Newman, parents of Richard Mark Newman, M.D., who died of ALS in 1987. The professorship honors Newman’s memory as well as the teaching career of his wife, Sarah Winans Newman, Ph.D., professor emerita of anatomy and cell biology. During her time on faculty 1970-1996, Newman served as chair of the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology (1983-1986) and associate vice president for research for U-M (1991-1994), and she won every major teaching award that the U-M medical school bestows. Giger’s research focuses on nervous system and immune system interaction, and this professorship will support his research in neural damage and the development of novel treatment strategies for white matter injury, including multiple sclerosis.

Todd M. Morgan, M.D., became the inaugural Jack Lapides, M.D., Research Professor in November. Established with a gift from the Jack Lapides estate, the professorship was created in memory of Lapides, a prominent urologist who was part of the Medical School faculty from 1964-1984. Lapides is considered by many to be the father of the modern sphincterology procedure, and his greatest contribution to medicine was the development of intermittent catheterization, which has saved the kidneys and lives of innumerable patients with bladder dysfunction and enabled the success of many urinary tract reconstructive procedures. Morgan is chief of the Division of Urologic Oncology at Michigan Medicine and has developed a research program that leverages our understanding of the biological underpinnings of urologic cancers to better inform treatment decision making. “I feel incredibly fortunate to be part of this great team and am beyond grateful for this honor,” he says.

Anne Pelletier Cameron, M.D., became the James Montie, M.D., Legacy Professor of Urology in November. Established with gifts from friends of Montie, faculty, and the Department of Urology, the professorship honors Montie (M.D. 1971), who is professor emeritus of urology. Montie joined the faculty in 1995 as associate professor of surgery and was appointed the George F. and Nancy P. Valassis Professor of Urologic Oncology in 1996. He also was the first chair of the Department of Urology from 2001-2007. Cameron’s clinical interests include complex urinary incontinence, female urethral disease, voiding dysfunction, and the care of patients with neurogenic bladder. Her current work is focused on trials among patients with neurogenic lower urinary tract dysfunction and centers on the prevention of urinary tract infections in this vulnerable population. “I am extremely honored and humbled to receive this prestigious title,” she says.