Honors Spring 2021

Spring 2021
Share Email Print
Text: A

Brahmajee Nallamothu, M.D. (Fellowship 2004), the Stevo Julius Research Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and professor of internal medicine, and Ji Zhu, Ph.D., professor of statistics and of electrical engineering and computer science in the Department of Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, led the research team named the grand prize winner in the American Heart Association COVID-19 data challenge. The team analyzed national data for risk factors of COVID-19 infection.

Four Medical School faculty and staff have been named fellows in the U-M Interprofessional Leadership Fellows program: Clifford Craig (M.D. 1969), associate professor of orthopaedic surgery, Priscilla Hohmann, program manager for Interprofessional Education, Vitaliy Popov, Ph.D., assistant professor of learning health sciences, and Jan Stegemann, Ph.D., professor of biomedical engineering. The fellows will work on team projects that address interprofessional education in experiential spaces, such as clinics or community settings.

Eric Bates (M.D. 1976, Residency 1979), professor of internal medicine, won the 2021 American College of Cardiology Distinguished Teacher Award.

Steven M. Donn, M.D., professor emeritus of pediatrics, was named a fellow of the American Association for Respiratory Care in recognition of his lifetime achievements in the care of newborns with respiratory failure.

Sonya Jacobs, senior director for faculty and leadership development at Michigan Medicine and chief organizational learning officer of U-M, won the Sarah Goddard Power Distinguished Service Award. Named after a late U-M regent, the award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the betterment of women through their leadership, scholarship, or other ways in their professional life.

Carrie Pilarski, Ph.D., assistant professor of clinical psychology, received the Harold Yuker Award for Research Excellence from the American Psychological Association for her paper, “#SayTheWord: A disability culture commentary on the erasure of disability.”

Christopher J. Sonneday, M.D., associate professor of surgery and executive vice-chair of the Department of Surgery, was appointed director of the U-M Transplant Center.

Bradley Uren (M.D. 2002, Residency 2006), associate professor of emergency medicine, was appointed by Governor Gretchen Whitmer as chair of the Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.